A is for Adoption #AtoZChallenge

Well, I did it.  I signed up THIS MORNING to participate in the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge 2014.

Yes, I’m crazy.

Oh well…I loved participating in 2012 for the first time.  I missed it last year when I didn’t do it.  So I’m jumping in with both feet, hoping to jump start my words again, and hoping that 26 days is enough to lock in the writing habit again.  I’ve missed it.  I’ve felt blocked and unable to write for months & months.  I’m inspired by the challenge.

And…I’m inspired by the challenge to tackle a theme.  So many of the bloggers in this challenge choose various themes, and while on the one hand it has the potential to create an added layer of difficulty, I think this is the year.  Here’s why…

We just spent the past 18 months…well, it’s really been off and on for five years…but in the past 18 months my family (husband, son, and me) went through a successful home study, two unsuccessful matches, one successful match, and on March 6, 2014 finalized the ADOPTION of our second child…another son…a beautiful, perfect little boy who just passed his 6-month birthday.

So ADOPTION it is…at least, in brief…26 entries over the next 30 days.

What I will say today is that ADOPTION is wonderful, heart-wrenching, beautiful, difficult, fulfilling, frustrating, and so full of blessings it is impossible to count them all.  I am beyond grateful for the gift of adoption, without which we would only have one child…a child who desperately and fervently desired a sibling, and who prayed faithfully for one until he arrived.  We are so grateful for him, and truly, we are grateful for the experience that brought him to us.  I will write our complete story one day, but suffice it to say for now that…

ADOPTION is not for the faint of heart, because it will fill it to overflowing and rip it apart.  Staying the course is not easy when things get bumpy, matches fall through, money is lost, or any of a million unexpected details arise…many of which will complicate things.

But ADOPTION is an amazing, fulfilling blessing…more so than anyone who has been through it can explain, and more than you can even anticipate.  I wouldn’t change any part of our experience, because it resulted in this wonderful child we have been privileged to add to our family.

So come back over the course of this month and read about our story.  I promise, it has a GREAT ending!

2 thoughts on “A is for Adoption #AtoZChallenge

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

