April 13 (L)…Loey & Loey’s Mom

I can’t imagine a better way to spend a Friday the 13th than hanging out with my cool little 6yo and a lovely 10yo young lady (daughter of my equally lovely friend).  Breakfast at the Black Bear Cafe, perusing books (and obtaining a much needed library card) at the downtown library, then back home for some down time before heading out again.  Sounds fun, right?  It was, right up until I mixed up what should have been very easy directions, and found myself half an hour late picking up my lovely friend’s two other children from school.  What should have been a 30 minute trip turned into an hour, and what should have been a quick phone call to let everyone know was instead about 30 minutes of their panicked wondering what happened and calling around to try and find out.  Why??

Because my phone was laying on the arm of the chair in our living room, right where my darling (somewhat sick) 6yo left it after he finished playing Angry Birds.

Yay!

I remember the pre-cell phone days in a hazy, “how did I survive” kind of way, because it has been an nearly constant companion these last 15 years.  To say I felt at loose ends is probably a bit of an understatement.  I actually felt a bit naked without it.  And lost, because even though I had never been to this school before, I had literally driven on every single street between my house and the school at one point or another during the past two years.  That brilliant little navigation program would have prevented a whole host of problems this afternoon.

But needless to say…

Loey, the little guy and I did make it to the school, picked up the other kids, and made it safely home with no major detours.  As I walked into the door, my husband informed me that he had been bombarded with calls the moment he walked in the door, looking for me and wondering what happened.  Thankfully it was only a case of a brain fart (mine).  It’s either that or age…and I’m not (nor will I ever be) old.

So, to Loey & Loey’s mom (and the rest of the family, too).  I am so sorry I worried you.  I love your kiddos like my own, and can only imagine the anxiety I would have felt in the same situation.  So no more worries…I now know the way, and I won’t be late the next time.

Much love to y’all!

4 thoughts on “April 13 (L)…Loey & Loey’s Mom

  1. You really shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. Despite the very few moments (it only seems like forever when you don’t know where your kids are) of panic, it all turned out well. And we were so thankful for all your help, but especially your love and friendship.

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

