My daughter will be…

J.K. Rowling hits it out of the park on this point. I got the exact opposite messagse as I was growing up. If I had daughters, I would frame this quote and hang it on the wall, to ensure they saw it every day and didn’t forget that there are thousand of things that make them valuable, and they should never hang their worth on their size.

Commander In Chic

“I’ve got two daughters who will have to make their way in this skinny-obsessed world, and it worries me, because I don’t want them to be empty-headed, self-obsessed, emaciated clones; I’d rather they were independent, interesting, idealistic, kind, opinionated, original, funny – a thousand things, before ‘thin’. And frankly, I’d rather they didn’t give a gust of stinking chihuahua flatulence whether the woman standing next to them has fleshier knees than they do. Let my girls be Hermiones, rather than Pansy Parkinsons. Let them never be Stupid Girls.”

J.K. Rowling

View original post

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

