The Magic Password

Just when one door shuts…..another one shuts.  Someone please give me the magic password!

This was the status update one of my friends posted on Facebook this morning, with a couple of comments about the magic password being “trust in the process” or “a specific combination of swear words…just not sure which combo is right…”

I have known this woman for many years.  She is beautiful, talented, accomplished, ambitious, and insanely smart.  She is outspoken and passionate about the things (and people) she cares about.  I have long admired her adventurous spirit, and how she finds success in the adventures she undertakes.  I have hurt for and with her when she has suffered pain in her life, not only because she is my friend, but also because I understand anguish and disappointment.

So when I log onto FB and read a status update such as the one above, I want to jump in and tell her that I know the magic password.  That it’s not a secret, and it’s the same for everyone.

Pray.

Tell God your needs, your wants, your heart’s desires.

Psalms 37:4-8…  Delight yourself also in the LORD, And He shall give you the desires of your heart. {5} Commit your way to the LORD, Trust also in Him, And He shall bring it to pass. {6} He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light, And your justice as the noonday. {7} Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for Him; Do not fret because of him who prospers in his way, Because of the man who brings wicked schemes to pass. {8} Cease from anger, and forsake wrath; Do not fret; it only causes harm.

Mark 11:24…  So I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

Philippians 4:6-7…  Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; {7} and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

1 John 5:14-15…  Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. {15} And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

This is what I want to tell her, because I know that it is what she needs.  And I know that it works.  I have seen it work for me.  I have watched it work for others.  I know it will work for her.  I want to tell her this…

…but she is not a believer…

…and I am a chicken.

8 thoughts on “The Magic Password

  1. You!? Chicken?! Well, maybe you could just tell her that you’re praying for her… That would get the message across without being quite as bold.

  2. When people need a comforting word, they are usually open to receive God’s word as long as it’s delivered in love. Bless your friend today, as you post blessed me.

  3. Hi, I came happened upon your blog that was posted on a friend’s FB page. First of all, thank you for writing it and posting such encouraging Bible verses. I find that if someone is hurting as JoAn mentioned earlier, and you offer to pray for them or suggest that they pray they are usually receptive if you make the suggestion in love. I do not know you but I am positive that you cannot be a coward after being so transparent in your blog. I admire you and hope you continue writing.

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

