40 Day Trash Bag Challenge

It all started with Momma B’s Coffee Perks, a group one of my friends set up so she could keep track of the blogs she follows.  (YAY!  She follows mine!)  Now when you run across a blog entitled The Incompetent Hausfrau, if you’re me, you immediately click on it, see that it is sarcastic & witty and full of cheeky curses, and immediately start following.  That led to another, which led to another, and the next think I knew I was reading about this decluttering challenge undertaken by Simply Catholic in 2008 in observance of Lent.

Oooohhhh…my kind of challenge.  And really, I’ve been wanting to declutter my house pretty much ever since we moved in..and I’ve made a lot of progress.  But I like stuff, and as my husband is quck to remind me (more than just occasionally), I will get a vision of what I want and go buy the stuff to make it happen before getting rid of the stuff we already have.  Which, of course, creates more stuff…more clutter…less space.

So here we are at the 40 Day Trash Bag Challenge.

How it works:

  1. Pick what size of trash bag you want to use.  (I haven’t decided on this yet, but it might be recycled shopping bags, since we have about a million of them.)
  2. Each week day for eight weeks fill one bag (or equivalent).  It can be a bag of stuff, toys, clothes, papers – anything,  a box of books, an old TV.  Anything that you can count as clutter is fair game.
  3. Update on your blog how it goes.
  4. Have fun.

I like this idea.  I’m really going to strive to get into this habit for the next few weeks.  Strangely, I might not need 40 days…but I might.  What I ultimately want, at the end, is a place for everything and everything in its place.

THEN the challenge will be to train (retrain?) the hubby and small child to actually put the things which have a place into that place…every time.  That will be more challenging.

8 thoughts on “40 Day Trash Bag Challenge

  1. Sounds like a great challenge. I am hoping some of that can come in handy with the 52 week challenge. I feel like 40 bags could come out of our master closet. It gives me anxiety, fo’ sho’!

  2. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog
    writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate
    it.

    • Thanks for the kind words. My main recommendation is to write, write, write. Participate in writing challenges & memes, and cross post to Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc. to widen your audience. Also read & comment on other blogs as you’ve done here. That gets others bloggers recognizing your name and visiting your blog too. Good luck!

  3. This design is spectacular! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved
    to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

