Gratitude Journal

A week or so ago I ordered a Gratitude Journal.  It was purely an impulse buy, which I ran across while searching for a very specific item requested by my husband for a White Elephant gift exchange.  What is noteworthy about this is that while it is not unusual for me to buy notepads and notebooks and myriad other writing accoutrements, I am not a journaler.  I have never kept a diary, and have never found writing purely for my own amusement & gratification something I could sustain over the long term.

I need feedback, even if it is as simple as “I like this.” It is something I find essential to the process of writing, because it is the interaction between me and my readers that helps me fine tune my thoughts and improve my delivery.  I value comments, critiques and criticisms because they make me a better writer.

So what on earth makes me unable to resist journals of all shapes, sizes & styles?  For all manner of subjects?  And why this particular journal?  Why gratitude?  I’m not even sure I know.  What I do know, though, is that writing inspirations come from the strangest places, at the most unplanned (and sometimes inopportune) times, when I’m doing something completely unrelated to the process of writing.  So what?  Well, I suppose it wouldn’t hurt to have a notebook of some sort to jot things down.

And, apparently, all the other notepads & notebooks I own could not fulfill the function that this (new) journal can.  I think the appeal is in the structure…a sort of fill in the blank for each day…something simple and quick that encourages brevity.  You’d think I would be more refined than this, more apt to require completely blank pages with no discernible structure other than lines.  But no, I basically want what amounts to a (serious) MadLib.

Yep, I’m that simple. 😀

What I think, though, is that this will prove to be much more useful than it first appears.  I think the continuity of the entries and the brief nature of the thoughts will provide many a jumping off point for blog entries.  I hope that over the course of a year I will find that I am indeed grateful for more than I realize, and (perhaps) not the least of these things is a wealth of ideas to cull from when my mind is otherwise running on empty.

Wish me luck.  I really want to make this a fun and enduring activity.  I see it as being not only a source of (continued) inspiration, but also a self-fulfilling prophecy of living life every day with gratitude.

9 thoughts on “Gratitude Journal

  1. “I like this.” 🙂 Looking forward to reading what comes of it! Again, I think we are so much alike, except I *never, ever* buy journals.

  2. I am so not a journaler either. I’ve bought Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts for myself for Christmas, I’ve seen so many bloggers being prompted to acknowledge and be thankful for the little things, which I often fail to do, their lists of the mundane have inspired me. I’m curious how you’ll like the journal.

    • Love the Thankful Game. Thanks for linking me to it – I may have to borrow that idea one of these days when I’m needing to head off a snarky attitude. 🙂

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

