Most Immoral & Sinful? What is the Answer?

I read a comment some time ago referring to homosexuality as “the most immoral and sinful lifestyle.”  This is a comment from a believer, a committed & sincere believer.  I was really taken aback by this comment, because it has always been my belief (and indeed, I’ve seen nothing yet to refute this) that as far as God is concerned, sin is sin is sin.  There are not degrees of immorality.  One sinful and immoral lifestyle is no more or less sinful and immoral than another sinful and immoral lifestyle.  It is because we are born sinners that we are sinful…that we are immoral…that we pursue depravity…and even that we measure our degree of sinfulness/depravity against other, more egregious (according to us) sins.

I can’t respond to this personally because it would touch off a feud, I’m afraid.  It is not my place in this instance to ask the hard questions.  But I’ll ask here…am I asking the right questions?  Is my understanding on the right track?  Have I understood or misunderstood?

CAVEAT:  I would also welcome some input regarding great / lesser sins, as I think it has some value in my understanding this issue better.

4 thoughts on “Most Immoral & Sinful? What is the Answer?

  1. I agree that in one sense, sin is sin is sin, but God does have differences in the severity of the punishments, so that must mean something! But, yes, I wouldn’t have said what your friend did.

  2. I believe there is only one sin, can’t remember which at the moment, that was considered worse than all others. It was the unforgivable sin.

    I don’t recall other sins having different severity or punishments. Considering homosexuality and eating shrimp are both listed as “abominations” and nearly right next to each other, one would think that just about every sin had the same punishments. After all if Shrimp=Homosexuality….the levels of punishment can’t be that different.

    Just my opinion though.

    • Thanks for your comment. I’m still noodling my way through this issue, as I am with most things. I really appreciate you taking the time to read my musings & post your opinion.

  3. 2 Peter 2:21 (“It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them.”) seems to suggest that there are different levels of punishment in hell. Luke 12:47-48 (“The servant who knows the master’s will and does not get ready or does not do what the master wants will be beaten with many blows. But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows.”) seems to suggest that Jesus approved of differing degrees of earthly punishment as well. Crucifixion was not the penalty for every sin, right?

    Here is a good quote I found on the website, http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/degrees.html – “For if every sin is equivalent to every other sin, then no progress towards holiness can be accomplished unless the person becomes perfectly sinless. And what incentive is there to repent from gross sin, if it’s viewed with equal weight as any other sin. If one is actively involved in adultery or fornication – physically having sex with others – he may think he’s no different than those who have a lustful thought from time to time. And if lustful thoughts are no different in degree that overt acts of sexual immorality, then what does it matter if one gets involved in the latter compared to the former?” Good point.

    With lifestyle, you are probably dealing with three alternatives – repenting but repeatedly falling back into the sin, knowing it’s wrong and just not caring, or not having been taught that it is wrong. Each of these would warrent different penalties. But I don’t know what evidence there is for homosexuality being the most immoral. Maybe serial killer?

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

