Chaotic Cogitations

I love alliteration.  A lot.

I love watching the hubby and small child snuggle up on the couch, talking and watching whatever it is that their guy hearts desire.  It’s such a great change to observe how alike they are.  I kept thinking today as I watched them that I should get the camera and capture the moment…but I didn’t, ’cause I was comfortable, and I didn’t want to move.  Lazy, that.

The small child has mastered the use of the iPad to the point that he is VERY adept at shopping in the app store for games he thinks he must have.  I’ve limited him to free games (with the occasional $$ game thrown in), and he has displayed an uncanny ability to find every single free game in existence.  Glad he doesn’t know my iTunes password…that’s all I’m sayin’.

Just how many times does one adult need to sit through Scooby Doo before it constitutes enough?  Well, I’ll let you know…

Made homemade chili yesterday using the uber-delicious Chugwater Chili spice blend.  So easy that even I will do it.  I am not a magician in the kitchen by any stretch – that moniker is definitely reserved for my husband – but I have swerved into a few winners, of which this is one.  Follow the link to check out Chugwater products & recipes:  http://www.chugwaterchili.com.

Pumpkin mellows are yummy…and so much better than candy corn.

So I made this crazy, sort-of-halfway-sincere-maybe resolution to embark on a reading challenge for 12 months – October 2011 to October 2012 – in which I would read off my own shelves for a change.  I’m a library gal, and I can hardly resist buying a good book when it’s a steal (can we say used book stores & thrifting??!!), so the question is not whether or not it’s a good idea (it definitely is), but whether or not I can actually not indulge in the more-than-occasional book purchase.  We shall see.

Of course, the above has been made a bit more difficult now since my hubby got me a Kindle for my birthday.  Yay!  He rocks!

And speaking of the Kindle, I downloaded the ESV Bible (for free) and used it at church today.  Now that’s cool, and it weighs less too.

Added a tagline to my personal blog when I transitioned to WordPress.  A zaftig cogitating…  What do you think?

Man, I wish I could go up to Michigan and see my sweet friend Mandi, who just had her third child (second daughter).  She’s a cutie patootie, as are her big sis & big bro, and I am achin’ for some snuggles from darlin’ baby Em!!

My husband fixed my car today – a whole in the coolant reservoir that caused my car to steam vociferously from every crevice around the hood and spew dark red liquid into a nice big puddle under the car.  Thankfully it was minor, though it didn’t appear so at the time.  Of course, as he was concluding that repair, he found that the battery had given up the ghost as well.  Thankfully Walmart delivered some customer service (for a change…usually it’s customer no-service) and sold him the battery after the auto shop had closed.  So I’m back on the road again. 🙂

I love the word desultory.

And quixotic.

I wish I had the talent for words that Mark Twain had…that Flannery O’Connor had…that Jack Kerouac had…that Pat Conroy has…that J.K. Rowling has…that Kathryn Stockett has.  What an impressive mastery of the English language each one of them displays, in their own disparate styles, when spinning exquisitely written tales that transport me straight into the heart of the story.

Still struggling theologically over predestination & free will, particularly in how it is possible to have freedom to make choices while understanding that God knew us (and the course of our lives) before the foundation of the world.  Them’s some deep thoughts…for another day.

13 thoughts on “Chaotic Cogitations

  1. I love your randomness! And pumpkin mellows! (I never knew that’s what they’re called.) Must confess I had to look up zaftig. Go Urban Dictionary! What do I think? I’m a little confused because I couldn’t find it used as a noun; however, I completely trust your word expertise and I don’t trust my eyes at this time of day! 🙂 Mostly I like that you’re totally embracing your “plump and juicy” self. (Definition #2 – Yiddish.) Keep up the great blogging.

    • L-O-V-E the Yiddish definition! I took a liberty with the word and used it as a noun, though it is an adjective (and a darn good one at that). It really should be a noun also, in my humble opinion, because it lends itself to that usage so easily. And I just love every little thing about it…in the same way that I love Rubenesque, except that zaftig sounds so much more…juicy! lol

  2. Check out the second part of Definition #3, because it looks like it IS used as a noun there, but when they put it in a sentence, they revert back to the adjective. Maybe I don’t like Urban Dictionary after all.
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=zaftig

    Now look at their definition for Rubenesque. Especially #6! (Perhaps they’re prophets!) I think they did a better job on “zaftig.” Ruben Studdard? Please!
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=rubenesque

  3. I love how you mix a bunch of random stories together! I especially remember the one of the car,what a nice time that was! Keep doing your blog,your great!

  4. Quality stuff here on wordpress.com, dude.
    I actually like what you have accumulated right here, definitely like what you’re thinking and the way through which you say it. You’ve taken the effort to make it simultaneously entertaining and intelligent.
    I think I can gather a lot from you. A beneficial blog undoubtedly.

Comments rock. Please leave yours!

